Reviews

REVIEWS OF LOCH AN EILEIN COTTAGE
"What a fabulous little paradise this is. We've had the best, most relaxing week here. Thank you so much to the team for making our stay as wonderful and perfect as we could ever have imagined." April 2022
"What a magical place to stay! Beautiful cottage, magnificent views, walks and bike rides. We've loved watching the wildlife from the window seats! Red squirrels, woodpeckers, ducks, countless birds!" March 2022
"Thank you thank you for the most BEAUTIFUL stay and retreat from the world. Do not want to go back to reality! (And I don't think I've ever had a comfier bed.) October 2021
"Thanks to Kyla, Vicky and team. What a wonderful holiday we have had in the beautiful cottage. So much to see, so little time. We will return." July 2021
"Amazing cottage and stay. Weather was good - dry and sunny. Couldn't have asked for any more!" May 2021
"Where to begin! It absolutely exceeded expectations, right from the get go. Kyla (the host) is quick to respond and so kind too. Your next surprise (aside from the scenery being even better than the photos) is the stunning cottage with high ceilings and stocked with everything you could possibly image you'd need for a getaway. Our dogs came with us and they lived the dream; swimming in the Loch and running around the spacious garden by the cottage. We would be back in a heartbeat. If you're hesitant to book for whatever reason, hesitate no more, it will be worth it and then some!" Sept 2020
"Just wanted to say thank you for such a wonderful stay and for going the extra mile to make everything perfect for us. ...”What a find!” We have had a really enjoyable week and are sad to return to normality! The foraging with Zeki was fantastic too - what a knowledgable young man, so much to learn from him. Thank you your hard work is much appreciated." August 2020
"Thank you! I've come to Loch an Eilein since I was a child and always dreamed of staying in one of the cottages. What a wonderful cottage and a spectacular place!" March 2020
"We had a wonderfully relaxing stay here. Great walking trails and views all around. Had a really interesting tour of the estate with Ray via Land Rover - highly recommended. We will be back!" Feb 2020
"Great place to bring in the new decade. So peaceful! Had fun with the squirrels. We'll be back!" Jan 2020
"Perfect relaxed Christmas! We had everything we needed. Recommend roasting a joint from Rothiemurchus in the range cooker!" Christmas 2019
"A truly wonderful winter break. All the comforts of home and a truly Scottish welcome with the hamper. Thank you and see you in the summer. " Dec 2019
“Idyllic spot in such a beautiful cottage. Perfect place for a weekend cycling break! Thanks so much for accommodating us in such a luxurious place. Saw the Woodpecker and a red squirrel just before we left.” September 2019
“A beautiful cottage so comfortable to come home to after a day out. We particularly enjoyed the antics of the red squirrels and various birds after we stocked up the seeds and nuts each morning. A woodpecker was incredible to watch so close up. A perfect location and facilities to enjoy a relaxing week and our 25th wedding anniversary. Bramble loved her time here too, particularly the loch.” September 2019
"This was the perfect place for us to come and get married in the woods and spend our first days together as husband and wife. It is so serene and comfortable here - everything has been considered and it shows. We will miss it and look forward to returning to celebrate an anniversary one day." September 2019
"Booked our stay to celebrate a 50th birthday and to get some much-needed chill time. What a perfect location to do both! The Cottage is beautiful and views of the loch enticed us outside and from the thoughtful luxuries. Weather was very kind; perfect heat to walk around the loch and follow the many trails. We loved passing time sitting on the window seats savouring the views and made use of the games and books supplied. Planning our return already! Thank you for a fabulous stay." September 2019
“Absolutely amazing. A wedding anniversary we’ll never forget.” August 2019
“We've had a wonderful week in this idyllic place. Fantastic weather and an abundance of wildlife. We particularly enjoyed evening visits from the badger!” August 2019
“Another wonderful stay at this gorgeous Highland Retreat. Many thanks for all the thoughtful touches - much appreciated.” August 2019
"An incredible cottage in a wonderful setting" July 2019
"Homecoming! The bed was as comfortable, the views as impressive, the cycling as good, the fire as warming - all as we had remembered. Roll on our next visit in 2020!" May 2019
"We have loved every minute of our stay here: watching red squirrels at breakfast, long walks round the loch, seeing the scenery change daily (snow topped mountains and a glittery frozen wonderland under dreamy blue skies), relaxing baths, cooking warming meals every night and reading a good book in front of the fire. It has been just the tonic we needed. Thank you for a fantastic holiday." Dec 2018
"Couldn't have imagined a better place for our honeymoon!! We were both so looking forward to some time alone after such a busy period and the cottage totally surpassed our expectations..." Aug 2018
"What a heavenly place to spend a week. The lochside location is breathtakingly beautiful. The sense of tranquility is second to none...this cottage is paradise!" April 2018
"What an amazing place. Cottage is perfectly luxurious - setting idyllic." Nov 2016
"The location is idyllic...We would recommend this cottage to anyone looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of daily life and to experience tranquillity, wildlife and stunning views on your doorstep. The only negative is having to leave." Nov 2016
"Balm for the soul" Oct 2016
"This has been the most perfect place to stay. No words can describe the view each morning and all the wildlife - breathtaking. Every detail in the cottage was thought out so well and we wanted for nothing." Oct 2016
"Heaven on earth!" Sept 2016
"One word......exceptional." July 2016
REVIEWS OF FOREST COTTAGE
"The most cosy cottage we have ever stayed in. So calm and relaxing (just what we needed). Loved the walk around the loch, our first time skiing in the Cairngorms Mountains - we will definitely do it again! Look forward to returning one day." February 2022
"This is our second visit to Forest Cottage and we've had such a lovely time again, escaping from our part of the world and being immersed in the beauty of the National Park. We walked and walked, sketched and painted. Our dogs have loved running around the Loch and meeting other dogs. We've slept for yours until we woke naturally which is priceless! A real rest and a holiday to remember! Thank you." January 2022
"We have had the most amazing few days - early morning photography by the loch and cycle rides to all our favourite spots. The refurbishment of the little old cottage has been achieved to an amazing standard of comfort whilst retaining the original charm." September 2021
"We have stayed at many cottages over the years and this beats them all." September 2021
"We have had a perfect honeymoon and loved every minute in the cottage. You have been nothing but helpful since we first booked and we can’t recommend staying here highly enough." September 2020
"Beautiful cottage in the woods. An idyllic spot to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary, amongst the "Granny pines", red squirrels and woodpeckers. What a wonderful escape. None of us want to leave." July 2021
"What a magical cottage! Felt like Hansel and Gretel - without the witch! Thank you for a wonderful few days at the best place we have ever stayed!" May 2021
"We had the most wonderful time at the cottage, it was like a dream come true. Such a magical place." October 2020
"What a wonderful cottage - we have absolutely loved our stay. The setting is just beautiful - peaceful and quiet. We loved our walks around the loch then home to this very comfortable and luxurious cottage. Bliss! We will definitely be back." August 2021
"A huge thank you to the entire team for making our stay at Forest Cottage last week amazing. The cottage is impeccable in every way - spotless, luxurious and those extra details all helped make the stay fabulous - like being in a hotel but self catering. Obviously the great flair shown in the decoration and style of the cottage first attracted us but the attention to detail by your team took it up to the next level." September 2020
"We had a lovely stay, the best cottage we have ever rented and we rent a lot.... It was just perfection." August 2020
"This is a beautifully styled cottage. Fantastic location, beautiful wildlife, there were 4 red squirrels in the garden together on one day! All viewed from the living room window. But it’s the extra special touches that make the difference, fresh flowers, ample treats, slippers, robes, TV in the bathroom! We can’t wait to visit again, it’s absolutely perfect." August 2020
"What a spectacular place you have there. We really enjoyed the cottage and the estate. Utterly beautiful and such attention to detail in the property." March 2020
"A truly stunning cottage - like stepping into an interior design dream for 5 nights! Such a homely, well equipped and welcoming cottage. We were delighted to enjoy this stay with out dog too - very thankful that this wonderful place is pet friendly. Sad to leave but back again for sure! Memories made...thank you." Feb 2020
"Had a wonderful few days in half term with the children and puppy...the cottage setting is so stunning - hope to visit again in the spring or summer. Thank you for the thoughtful touches - and brilliant magazine selection!". Feb 2020
"It's been truly magical...such an idyllic setting...we have felt very inspired painting and sketching the surrounding landscape, red squirrels and countless tiny birds...My husband has already booked the cottage for next New Year. What better place to start a new year!" January 2020
"Thank you again so much for your help and our wonderful stay at Forest Cottage. It was truly spectacular and the little details at the cottage helped make our stay so memorable." January 2020
"Beautiful cosy cottage and lovely attention to detail. In a perfect, tranquil setting." November 2019
"Total bliss! Already booked to come back!" November 2019
"Woke up to snow today - so magical! Thank you for a wonderful stay! Cottage so cosy by the fire and everything thought of! We enjoyed watching the woodpecker, squirrels and all the little birds! Farm Shop had loads of good snacks - Blue Murder cheese recommended! Also recommend trip to reindeer centre and Morlich loch. Everywhere is so BEAUTIFUL!!!" November 2019
"Fantastic place to stay in the heart of the forest! We had a great time walking in the Cairngorms and then spending long evenings in Forest Cottage with whisky and a log fire." Sept. 2019
"We had such a beautiful stay in Forest Cottage, one would like to stay forever. No matter which room of the cottage you are in you feel spoiled and at home....Preparing a meal in this amazing luxurious bright kitchen and enjoying it in the beautiful backyard garden - heaven! Not to forget the beautiful nature surrounding you, the lake, the woods - a special place!" July 2019
"The space goes above and beyond. It seems like you have thought of everything... a great location, wonderful views and access to the lake and when you are wanting to stay inside it is so comfortable and relaxing. Shower and bath is wonderful! Overall, perfection." July 2019
"We wanted for nothing in a cottage that has thought of EVERYTHING....This will be the first of many idyllic stays in beautiful Forest Cottage." June 2019
"This was the first place we're staying on our honeymoon and it could not have been more spectacular! Everything about the cosy cottage tugs at the heart strings and we're already planning ways to come back. Perfect is the only word for this Highland gem of a place." June 2019
"Wow! A slice of heaven. Beats staying in a boutique hotel any day. The amenities of this cottage are nothing short of amazing, everything (everything) has been thought of. Could not have been more comfortable. The cottage is secluded in the evenings and mornings but has a bit of a buzz around it with walkers and mountain bikers during the day which brought some welcome activity to the area. The farm shop a few miles walk away was fabulous. Could not recommend Forest Cottage enough. Can’t wait to return!" April 2019
"Totally blown away with the interior of the cottage" 2018
"Amazing and just perfect" 2018
"Sitting by the loch at dusk...unforgettable" 2018
"Thank you for sharing your piece of heaven with us." June 2018
"Packed full of character and charm with luxury facilities, it’s an exceptional holiday house." 2018
"The cottage is beautiful – spotlessly clean, super comfortable...brilliantly styled and utterly charming." 2018
"We've just found our favourite place in the world." August 2018
REVIEWS OF ACHNAHATNICH HOUSE
"A very much enjoyed holiday. We shall miss it!" January 2022
"We would just like to say thank you for a wonderful week! The house is beautiful and we have had an AMAZING time." June 2021
"Our stay in Scotland, more specifically in Achnahatnich House, has been overwhelming. We had some very high expectations and the property has gone over them by a mile. We really enjoyed every little detail. We also had some of the best home-cooking and catering one could wish for. The Lunchbox Boys turned our stay into culinary perfection...A magnificent place like this deserves home cooking like them." July 2020
"House is in the most stunning, hidden location, and finished so well. Amazing place to have a bath, sit by the fire or get a good night’s sleep." February 2020
"A lovely snowy holiday week enjoyed by all. Thank you. Views are lovely - especially when covered in snow." February 2020
"What an amazing New Year! There wasn't any snow but we have had a truly wonderful time here at Achnahatnich. Great walks, cycles, and fab facilities at our doorstep on Rothiemurchus. Thank you for the much appreciated hamper on our arrival. This has been a treasured time...many thanks and look forward to returning." January 2020
"The farmhouse is truly lovely...Had a really great time at the house...an idyllic setting." Jan 2020
"Super house and lovely long weekend. Great treat to wake up to snow on our first morning - beautiful! Thank you Kyla and team." November 2019
“My wife and I recently stayed at Achnahatnich House. We have stayed at a number of retreats in Scotland and rarely have we encountered a house so well appointed, comfortable and in such good taste. The rooms were exceptionally well furnished to the highest standards of comfort and the rest of the house fitted out with every modern convenience rarely seen outside America. An exceptional house for three couples looking for luxury in beautiful “out of the way” surroundings or a family looking for adventure in the highlands. To be thoroughly recommended”. October 2019
“Lovely attention to detail. A really luxurious stay.” October 2019
"We've had a really fantastic holiday in this beautiful farmhouse. The house itself is immaculate and very stylish. We've really enjoyed exploring the surrounding area and particularly enjoyed the peace and tranquility of such a secluded location. Thank you so much for such wonderful hospitality!" October 2019
"We had a wonderful holiday in this beautiful farmhouse. The house was immaculately clean throughout and beautifully finished with stylish furnishings. We found the house very spacious and ideal for our needs. We enjoyed relaxing by the wood-burning stoves, and exploring the beauty of surrounding area. We would highly recommend this house to our friends and family, and hope to return again in the future." October 2019
"Thank you so much for your wonderful hospitality. We have had a fantastic stay and can't wait to return to this beautiful farmhouse very soon!" September 2019
"A really pristine location and a renovated farm-house of comfort and elegance in equal measure - we can't recommend our stay highly enough." August 2019
"Achnahatnich House is absolutely stunning! We had a fabulous time on our holiday enjoying the peaceful scenery surrounding us - it was so nice to be away from everything but also close to lots of activities and shops. The house has everything you need and is a great place to unwind. Lots of great touches throughout - we especially loved the Highland Soap Co products (we are ordering for home!)." August 2019
"What a PERFECT spot! The house is IDYLLIC both inside and out. It is finished to a very high standard. We particularly enjoyed the views 360 from the table and chairs atop the hill - perfect for a sundowner! Thank you for having us. We will be back!" August 2019
"Beautiful house in a stunning location. Lots to do and see. A lot of attention to detail in the house." August 2019
"The girls LOVE the house!" - APO Co-ordinator (Scotland) for major motion picture; Achnahatnich House used for senior production team accommodation, July 2019
REVIEWS OF CAIRN VALLEY
"What a week. This cottage is so beautiful and a perfect place to base ourselves in these wonderful surroundings. We nearly tried to take the bath with us! We named the garden pheasants Jasper and Mallorie - please look after them - and our visiting red squirrel and woodpecker! The track up by the ruins is the best way to walk to Loch an Eilein, where we met our fabulous neighbours and had drinks. Get paddleboards if you can - you won't regret it out there. And if you're out walking, don't take the wrong turn up Cairngorm like we did and end up at the top of Ben Macdui...Actually do! It was gorgeous and we wouldn't change a thing. Sorry to take up two pages....we could write a book about it...". April 2022
"We're so glad we picked this beautiful cottage for our honeymoon - we couldn't have had a more relaxing week! It was gorgeous even in the rain - so cosy - and utterly magical in the snow. Can't wait to come back!" Feb 2022
"What a truly magical Christmas getaway this has been. The cottage is so cosy and stunning we have been loathe to even leave for walks or shopping. We will most certainly be returning. Thank you so much." December 2021
"We have loved our stay at this wonderful cottage. So peaceful and a great location. The interior is so beautiful and has been the perfect place to relax. Our black lab has loved the walks and snoozing in front of the fire at night!" December 2021
"We had very high expectations of the latest addition to the portfolio, but they were surpassed! The property is perfect. It is in such a wonderful location. It felt so secluded and the peace and tranquillity were something else. Such clever use has been made of the space inside the cottage and it has all been so beautifully finished. The summer house and outdoor spaces have also been so thoughtfully prepared for guests. We could not have been happier with our stay. It was great to be able to purchase supplies for the week from the estate shop at Inverdruie. Thank you also for the recommendations that you sent with the booking information. It was really hard to return home on Friday morning - we were very reluctant to leave all that beauty and stillness behind! We will be very keen to return and will not hesitate to recommend Cairn Valley to family and friends." July 2021
"A haven of peace and tranquility. With many thanks to all at Team Hidden Highland Retreats for your hard work behind the scenes." July 2021
"The most peaceful place to be. Wildlife amazing - watch for pine marten from the bedroom window! Find the path via the ruin to Forest Cottage!" July 2021
"Fabulous cottage, wonderful wildlife, beautiful views!! What a relaxing week it has been. Thank you for the luxurious touches. We will return xx" June 2021
"There are very few words to describe this magical place! The views, the cosy homely feel, the detail and the luxury all wrapped us up and gave us the most magical stay. Thank you for a memory that will last this couple a lifetime. We hope to be back soon." June 2021
"What an absolutely brilliant cottage! We are so happy we chose to stay here for our honeymoon. The perfect place to start our married life together. We will definitely be back!" June 2021
"It has been an absolute delight to stay here and be the very first guests has made it even more special. The cottage is amazing, so cosy and so very well appointed. We will definitely be returning." May 2021
REVIEWS OF THE GARDEN FLAT
"Thanks for a lovely end of half term break. We've had a fabulous snowy time here and been amazed at how cozy the flat is. Loved trips to Loch Morlich and Loch an Eilein and sledged up at the ski area. Girls enjoyed the swing and pheasants in the garden and seeing the horses. We'd love to come back soon." February 2022
"We cannot say enough how much we loved our week there. The welcome pack was such a nice touch on arrival, the flat is beautifully decorated and furnished, and the location was perfect for the cycling and hiking holiday that we were taking. We loved watching birds in the garden, too. The produce at the Rothiemurchus farm shop was so delicious that we bought lots of extras to take home with us, for ourselves and as gifts. This really was a holiday to remember and we definitely aim to come back. Thank you again for all the special effort that you put into welcoming guests." September 2021
"An absolutely wonderful week! The flat is beautiful and the perfect base for exploring the Cairngorms and forest." September 2021
"Beautiful flat and super location!" September 2021
"We have loved our stay at the Garden Flat. Lovely cosy cottage in beautiful surroundings. Loved the window seat while I have looked out onto the garden. We have very much enjoyed some family time exploring, running, paddle boarding and swimming. We would love to return again. Thank you!" August 2021
"What a beautiful place. We really enjoyed our stay here. Thank you. The house is very cosy, had everything we needed. We loved the decoration and the view of the lush garden." August 2021
"We have had a really lovely stay here in the Garden Flat. Lovely spot, amazing weather!! Thank you." July 2021
"Thank you for a great week here at the Garden Flat. We've loved it here and the weather has been a dream!" July 2021
"Loved our stay in the Garden Flat! Lovely touches like the welcome pack, toiletries and milk were a plus. Best bonus was the fantastic weather! Thank you Kyla and team." July 2021
"Perfect week at the Garden Flat. Beautiful surroundings, especially the view of the Cairngorms. We'll be back for more!" May 2021
"A wonderful relaxing week in this beautiful spot! Looking forward to returning!" May 2021
"Fantastic stay in this lovely cosy house. Woke up to snow on Thursday! Great walks - Chalamain Gap and Glen Feshie. Evening kayak on Loch Morlich. Hope to return!" May 2021